ar-PS.gif  en-US  en-US

Previous Election Events

The first General Elections in Palestine was conducted in 1996 to elect the President of the Palestinian National Authority and the members of the Legislative Council according to Law No. 13 of 1995 and its further amendments. However, the said law was cancelled under article 116 of elections law No. 9 of 2005. The said law adopted the majority system (districts), where nomination was carried out individually and nominees were elected according to the number of seats assigned to each district.


The second Presidential Elections was conducted on 9 January 2005 based on Law No. 13 of 1995 under the supervision of the CEC. Whereas, the second Legislative Elections was held on 25 January 2006, according to Law No. 9 of 2005.


The first local elections were conducted in four stages from 2004 to 2005 under the supervision of the Higher Committee for Local Elections, headed by Minister of Local Government. However, this responsibility was subsequently transferred to the CEC. The Second local elections were called for several times between 2010 and 2011, however, it was cancelled each time.

On 10 July 2012 the Cabinet issued a decision calling for holding Local Council Elections in all districts of the West Bank on 20 October 2012. Elections were held in 272 localities out of 353. Accordingly, a subsequent Cabinet decision was issued to hold complementary local elections on 22 December 2012 where 81 localities participated. A third Cabinet decision was issued to hold a second complementary elections on 1 June 2013 where 22 localities participated.

On 31 January 2017, the Cabinet issued a decision to hold local elections in all localities on 13 May 2017. Elections were held in the West Bank only with participation of 326 localities out of 391. The Cabinet issued another decision to hold complementary elections held on 29 July 2017 in which 32 localities participated.


Since its inception, the CEC conducted several voter registration campaigns during the years 2004 to 2018. 


Central Elections Commission Copyright Reserved©2024
return to Top