ar-PS.gif  en-US  en-US

Persidential Decree No( ) of 2005 – Call for Legislative Elections on the17 July 2005

The President of the Palestinian National Authority

Having reviewed the amended Basic Law of 2003;
Elections Law No. 13 of 1995 and its amendments; and
Presidential Decree No. 10 of 2004 regarding the call for the election of the President of the Palestinian National Authority, and
Based upon the powers bestowed upon me,

I hereby promulgate the following Decree:

  1. Article 1

    The Palestinian people in the Gaza Strip, the West Bank and Jerusalem shall be called for the general, free and direct elections to elect the members of the Palestinian legislative council on Sunday, July 17, 2005.

  2. Article 2

    The process of voting for the candidates for the membership of the Palestinian Legislative Council shall be conducted on the basis of the final lists of candidates and voters and the civil registry.

  3. Article 3

    Candidature shall commence on June 5th, 2005 and shall last for 12 days.

  4. Article 4

    The electoral campaign shall commence on Saturday, July 2nd, and shall end on Saturday, July 16th, 2005.

  5. Article 5

    The CEC shall conduct a supplementary registration for Palestinian voters who have not been able to register their names during the original registration period.

  6. Article 6

    The presidential elections set for January 9th, 2005 and the legislative elections which date is specified in Article 1 of this decree shall be considered as one cycle of elections despite their discontinuity.

  7. Article 7

    It shall be considered void and null whatever goes against the provisions of this decree.

  8. Article 8

    The President and members of the Central Elections Commission as well as all competent authorities, each within its own jurisdiction, must implement this Decree. The Decree shall enter into force upon its issuance and shall be published in the Official Gazette.

Issued in the city of Gaza on 08/01/2005 A. D., corresponding to Zu al-Qi'dah 27, 1425 Hijri.

Central Elections Commission Copyright Reserved©2024
return to Top