ar-PS.gif  en-US  en-US

The CEC signs a memorandum of understanding with the Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation.

Sunday, December 25, 2005

On 21 December, 2005, the CEC signed a memorandum of understanding with the Palestinian Broadcasting Corporation (PBC) regarding media coverage during the elections period. Dr. Hanna Nasir, the CEC Chairman, and Mr. Basim Abu Sumaya, Chairman of the PBC, signed the memorandum on behalf of the CEC and the PBC, respectively.

The memorandum details the public media’s coverage of the electoral process and confirms the importance of its neutrality during the electoral period as per Article 15 of Elections Law No. 9 of 2005. According to the memorandum, PBC is prohibited from broadcasting any paid or unpaid advertisements for any of the lists or candidates other than those agreed upon by the CEC and the PBC as per Article 63 of the Elections Law. The law stresses the importance of giving candidates equal opportunities to promote their electoral platforms. The PBC will broadcast a series of television talk shows for each registered electoral list. The shows shall be concluded with a final talk show presented by the CEC to educate the public on the Palestinian Elections Law.

The memorandum indicated that every electoral list and district candidate has the right to provide the CEC with a taped television or radio advertisement. The CEC has the right to remove any content in the advertisement and to refuse to broadcast the advertisement if it violates the regulations of electoral campaigning or Article 64/1 & 5 of the Elections Law. Advertisements should be broadcast at a standard time for all electoral lists based on the order of the list on the ballot paper. Advertisements for district candidates should be broadcast according to the order of their names on the ballot paper and for an equal period of time.

According to the memorandum, the PBC gives special attention to the coverage of CEC-related news and the CEC provides the PBC with all electoral and media materials. 


Central Elections Commission Copyright Reserved©2024
return to Top